Sivananda yoga classes in Brussels & online

2016 Sharad Navratri

Leave a comment

Navratri is one of the most celebrated festivals of India. Nav translates to ‘Nine’ and Ratri to ‘Night’ therefore meaning nine nights that are dedicated to the Divine Mother in all of her forms.

The Mother Goddess is said to appear in 9 forms, and each one is worshiped for a day. These nine forms signify various traits that the goddess influences us with. The Devi Mahatmya and other texts invoking the Goddess who vanquished demons are cited.

Navratri Festival Celebrations devotees are welcoming Goddess Durga for nine days. The celebration lasts for nine nights, or as many days. The tenth day is celebrated as Vijayadashami , wherein devotees immerse idols of Goddess Durga into the water. This year Navratri which started on October 1 will be on till October 10, with 11th being Dussehra. It is also known as the Maha Navratri and the most important day.

The nine forms of Goddess Durga is said to symbolise creative energy and the feminine body. Each form of the goddess has its own day dedicated to it. 



Om shanti -ॐ शान्ति

Author: Ambika Yoga

Ambika Yoga is about the 5 points of yoga: proper exercise, proper breathing, relaxation, proper diet, positive thinking & meditation. Want to feel energized with a healthy body & mind? Come and join the classes !

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s